Print this page



Under 16 Boys: Durham 1 North Yorkshire 2

Durham suffer defeat

Posted by: allan

For the second successive season in the Northern Counties North Yorkshire inflicted defeat on Durham.

North Yorkshire began the game brightly and were ahead in the 4th minute when an excellent long range strike from Jack Pickford nestled in the back of the net.

Durham reacted positively and were level 3 minutes later. Henry Dorwood sent the ball over the North Yorkshire defensive line. Kaleb Young outpaced the covering defenders then chipped the ball over the advancing keeper.

A Durham free kick was almost rewarded with a goal when the ball fell to Kaleb Young inside the goal area but Mark Walker, the visitors’ goalkeeper was quickly off his line to smother the ball.

North Yorkshire began to dominate play to put the home side under pressure which resulted in the Durham defence being exposed on several occasions.

After a few near misses the visitors deservedly took the lead in the 31st minute through Dylan Muggleson-Forbes.

With half time, approaching Durham were indebted to Jacob Bramley to keep the deficit to one goal with an excellent double save.

With a very poor first half behind them Durham’s play could only improve, which it did, as they made every effort to get back on level terms.

Due to their improvement in play Durham created many good opportunities but Mark Walker was determined not to be beaten and made several good saves to maintain the visitors lead.

In added time, as Durham pressed for an equaliser they were exposed at the back. Twice James Thorpe rescued the home team with fine saves.

This was the first-time North Yorkshire had beaten Durham in two consecutive games.


  • Jacob Bramley (Chester-le-Street SFA)
  • Jack Howe (East Durham SFA), Liam Barnes (Sunderland SFA), Ellis Wymer (Bishop Auckland SFA), James Chapman (Chester-le-Street SFA)
  • Daniel Ferguson (Bishop Auckland SFA), Jordan Patterson (Chester-le-Street SFA), Declan Sproston (Chester-le-Street SFA), Henry Dorwood (Sunderland SFA)
  • Jak Crocher (Bishop Auckland SFA), Kaleb Young (Gateshead SFA)

Substitutes used: James Thorpe (Darlington SFA), Aidan O’Hara (Bishop Auckland SFA), Jonny Langley (Sunderland SFA), James Thopmson (Sunderland SFA), Alfie Pearn (Bishop Auckland SFA)

Next page: DCSFA Officers