First Round Semi Final Final Competition Secretary
Primary Competition Rules Roll of Honour

The Alan Grimes Memorial Trophy began in 1975-76 as an 11-a-side competition and entry was restricted to schools with under 35 boys in the top two years of the Primary school. Because of FA rule changes this became a 7-a-side competition in 1999-00.

Special Rules

  1. The Competition is played according to the FA Laws for Mini-Soccer (7v7).
  2. Entry is restricted to schools with 101 or more pupils in Key Stage 2.
  3. Only pupils in Years 5 and 6 are allowed to play.

FIRST ROUND on Wednesday 11 October 2017

Derwentside: Blackhill St Mary’s, Stanley St Joseph’s, St Patrick’s, Tanfield Lea, Catchgate, Shotley Bridge, Greenland, Lanchester EP

South Tyneside: West Boldon

Peterlee: Acre Rigg, Cotsford, Dene House, Easington Colliery, Howletch, Our Lady of the Rosary, Seascape, Shotton, Shotton Hall, South Hetton, Wingate, Yohden

Sunderland: St Mary’s RC, Hill View, Bexhill, Barnes, Diamond Hall, Mill Hill, Castletown, Broadway, Fulwell, South Hylton, Farringdon, Southwick, Bernard Gilpin, St Benet’s, Highfield, Hylton Castle, Thorney Close, Grindon Hall, Willowfields, St Paul’s, English Martyrs, Hudson Road

Chester-le-Street: Lumley, Ouston, St Margaret’s CE, Cestria

Washington: Rickleton, Albany, Biddick, JFK, Lambton, Usworth Colliery

Seaham: Sea View, Westlea, Seaham Trinity, Ropery Walk, St Mary Magdalen, St Cuthbert’s RC, Ribbon

Durham City: Shincliffe, Blue Coat CE, Bowburn, Finchale, Pittington, Framwellgate, Nevilles Cross, Sacriston

SEMI FINALS on Wednesday 24 April 2018


FINAL on Tuesday 15 May 2018


Competition Secretary

Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1975-76 Barnwell Kelloe
1976-77 Kelloe West Auckland
1977-78 Kelloe Horden & Easington RC
1979-80 Kelloe Woodlea
1980-81 St Hild's, Durham Kelloe
1981-82 St Charles' RC, Spennymoor St John Boste RC, Washington
1982-83 St John Boste RC, Washington St Leonard's RC, Sunderland
1983-84 St Bede's RC, Washington Toft Hill
1984-85 Barnwell St Cuthbert's, Gateshead
1985-86 Thorney Close, Sunderland St Mary's RC, Whickham
1987-88 Clover Hill, Blaydon Valley View, Jarrow
1988-89 St Leonard's RC, Silksworth St John Boste RC, Washington
1989-90 Bede Burn, Jarrow Red Rose, Chester-le-Street
1990-91 St Mary's RC, Jarrow Shotley Bridge
1991-92 St Benet's RC, Ouston St Mary's RC, Jarrow
1992-93 Brooms RC, Leadgate Plains Farm, Sunderland
1993-94 Red Rose, Chester-le-Street Valley View, Jarrow
1994-95 St Oswald's CE, Hebburn Red Rose, Chester-le-Street
1995-96 West Cornforth St Oswald's CE, Hebburn
1996-97 St Joseph's RC, Jarrow Lumley
1997-98 Barley Mow, Birtley Fellgate, Jarrow
1998-99 Barley Mow, Birtley Roman Road, Felling
1999-00 Coxhoe
2000-01 St Patrick's RC, Consett
2001-02 Biddick Hall, South Shields
2002-03 Hill View, Sunderland
2003-04 Howletch, Peterlee
2004-05 Hill View, Sunderland Mill Hill, Sunderland
2005-06 Easington Colliery
2006-07 Benedict Biscop, Sunderland
2007-08 Rickleton, Washington Red Rose, Chester-le-Street
2008-09 Hill View, Sunderland East Stanley
2009-10 Easington Colliery East Stanley
2010-11 Castletown Burnopfield
2011-12 St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland St Margaret's CE, Durham
2012-13 St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland St Mary's RC, Sunderland
2013-14 St Godric's RC, Durham Rickleton Primary School, Washington
2014-15 Cotsford Junior School, Horden Broadway Junior School, Sunderland
2015-16 Broadway Junior School, Sunderland Easington Colliery Primary School
2016-17 Easington Colliery Primary School Broadway Junior School, Sunderland