Competition Secretary County Cup Rules Roll of Honour

In June 1972 ESFA asked Counties to organise an inter-school competition for Under 16 Boys. Durham agreed in principle.

The Under 16 County Cup began in 1972-73 as a knock-out competition with 48 entries. Shortly after the season started ESFA introduced the ESFA Pepsi Trophy competition for this age group. Adjustments had to be made to the County competition and, in the end, 61 schools took part in the Durham County section.

For season 1973-74 the competition was organised in two parts, first a league section, then a knock-out section to find a County champion. 91 schools were organised into 16 groups. The winner of each group entered the knock-out section. The winning team then represented DCSFA in the National competition.

In July 1975 Council accepted an offer of a trophy in memory of Bert Hodgson, a former Chairman and Treasurer of DCSFA. It was decided to use the new trophy for this competition to replace the Pepsi Trophy, which would be presented to the runners-up.

Special Rules

  1. Boys shall not have completed their 16th year before the 1st September that season.
  2. All games shall be of two periods, each of 40 minutes duration.
  3. A size 5 ball to be used.

PLEASE NOTE - Only pupils in Years 10 and 11 are allowed to play in this competition

Could the winning team please inform the Competition Secretary with the result within 48 hours of the game ending. Any results not received within 48 hours will lead to the elimination of the team concerned.

1 v
2 v
3 v
4 v
5 v
6 v
7 v
8 v
9 v
10 v
11 v
12 v
13 v
A v
B v
C v
D v
E v
F v
G v
H v
Q1 v
Q2 v
Q3 v
Q4 v
SA v
SB v
FINAL to be arranged

Competition Secretary: L Mence


Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1972-73 St Mary's, Darlington Blaydon
1973-74 High Tunstall, Hartlepool Northlea, Seaham
1974-75 Easington Spennymoor
1975-76 Easington Heathfield
1976-77 St Bede's RC, Lanchester Boldon
1977-78 Castle View, Sunderland Seaham
1978-79 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1979-80 Shotton Hall, Peterlee Seaham
1980-81 Castle View, Sunderland
1981-82 Framwellgate Moor St Bede's RC, Peterlee
1982-83 Pelton Roseberry St Leonard's RC, Durham
1983-84 Shared: Hylton Red House and Southmoor
1984-85 Castle View, Sunderland Heathfield
1985-86 Washington St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1986-87 Farringdon Carmel RC, Darlington
1987-88 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Easington withdrawn
1988-89 St Joseph's RC, Hebburn Framwellgate Moor
1989-90 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Easington
1990-91 Heworth Grange St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1991-92 Thornhill, Sunderland Usworth
1992-93 Shared: Farringdon and St Bede's RC, Lanchester
1993-94 Houghton Kepier Oxclose, Washington
1994-95 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Longfield, Darlington
1995-96 Farringdon Hylton Red House
1996-97 Easington Thomas Hepburn, Gateshead
1997-98 St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields Monkwearmouth
1998-99 St Bede's RC, Lanchester St Edmund Campion RC, Gateshead
1999-00 Heworth Grange St John's RC, Bishop Auckland
2000-01 Farringdon Thornhill, Sunderland
2001-02 St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
2002-03 Hummersknott, Darlington Biddick, Washington
2003-04 Dene, Peterlee Hylton Red House
2004-05 Oxclose, Washington Haughton, Darlington
2005-06 Hurworth, Darlington St John's RC, Bishop Auckland
2006-07 Southmoor, Sunderland Jarrow
2007-08 Jarrow Framwellgate
2008-09 Shotton Hall, Peterlee Lord Lawson of Beamish, Birtley
2009-10 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Hebburn
2010-11 St John's RC, Bishop Auckland Manor, Hartlepool
2011-12 St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields Longfield Academy of Sport, Darlington
2012-13 Shared: St Aidan's RC, Sunderland and High Tunstall College of Science, Hartlepool
2013-14 Longfield Academy of Sport, Darlington St Joseph's Catholic Academy, Hebburn
2014-15 High Tunstall College of Science St John's RC, Bishop Auckland
2015-16 Oxclose Community Academy, Washington Whitburn CE Academy
2016-17 St Thomas More RC, Blaydon Biddick Academy, Washington
2017-18 Hurworth, Darlington Easington Academy
2018-19 St Joseph's Catholic Academy, Hebburn St Wilfrid's RC College, South Shields
2019-20 Final unable to be played due to Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic thus High Tunstall College of Science, Hartlepool and St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington share the trophy.
2020-21 No competition due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
2021-22 Castle View Enterprise Academy, Sunderland Grace College, Gateshead