First Round Second Round
Quarter Final Semi Final Final
Competition Secretary County Cup Rules Roll of Honour

The Joicey Cup (or "Lord Joicey Challenge Cup" to give it its full title), dates back to the season 1920-21, when it was originally an Under 15s League Cup in the old Lambton and Hetton Schools Football Association.

From the 1961-62 season it became a County Cup at Under 14 Level (Year 9), before changing to a Year 8 County Cup competition from season 1999-2000. As a charity cup competition it has always made an annual donation to the "Save the Children Fund".

Special Rules

  1. Players shall not have completed their 13th year on or before the 1st September that season.
  2. All games shall be of two periods, each of 30 minutes duration.
  3. A size 4 ball to be used.
  4. In all rounds, if the scores are equal, extra time of 10 minutes each way must be played. If scores are still equal, except in the final, then the tie must be decided by penalties.
  5. Rules for penalties:
    1. Each side to take 5 penalties, in the same goalmouth, by different players.
    2. Penalties to be taken alternately.
    3. In the event of a tie --- the above to be repeated by the same players until a result is obtained.

Could the winning team please inform the Secretary, with the result of the match, as soon as possible after the completion of the game.

FIRST ROUND by Saturday 23 September 2017 ^TOP
A Belmont Community School 2 - 8 Easington Academy
SECOND ROUND by Saturday 14 October 2017
1 Kepier 1 v 0 Harton College of Technology
2 St Thomas More Catholic School 9 - 0 Oxclose Community Academy
3 Framwellgate 8 - 5 Whickham School & Sports College
4 The Academy at Shotton Hall 0 - 12 St Wilfrid's RC College
5 Biddick Academy 1 v 0 Thorp Academy
6 Hurworth 1 - 5 Monkwearmouth Academy
7 Wellfield 2 - 9 Durham Johnston
8 Castle View Enterprise Academy 2 - 3 St John's RC
9 Easington Academy (won 4-3 on pens) 4 - 4 Dyke House Sports & Technology College
10 Longfield Academy of Sport 6 - 1 St Robert of Newminster RC
11 St Leonard's RC 1 - 3 Hummersknott Academy
12 Kingsmeadow Community School 1 - 6 St Joseph's Catholic Academy
13 Joseph Swan Academy 0 v 1 The English Martyrs School
14 St Bede's RC, Lanchester 2 - 5 High Tunstall College of Science
15 Carmel College 2 - 7 Cardinal Hume Catholic School
16 Hebburn 2 - 4 Whitburn CE Academy
THIRD ROUND by Saturday 2 December 2017 ^TOP
A Hummersknott Academy 1 - 7 Longfield Academy of Sport
B High Tunstall College of Science (won 4-2 on pens) 4 - 4 St John's RC
C Framwellgate 5 - 2 Durham Johnston
D Whitburn CE Academy 1 - 2 St Joseph's Catholic Academy
E Easington Academy 0 - 2 Monkwearmouth Academy
F St Wilfrid's RC College 2 - 1 Biddick Academy
G St Thomas More Catholic School 0 - 6 Cardinal Hume Catholic School
H The English Martyrs School 1 v 0 Kepier
QUARTER FINAL by Saturday 10 February 2018
Q1 Monkwearmouth Academy v High Tunstall College of Science
Q2 Cardinal Hume Catholic School v The English Martyrs School
Q3 St Wilfrid's RC College v Longfield Academy of Sport
Q4 Framwellgate v St Joseph's Catholic Academy
SEMI-FINAL by Saturday 10 March 2018
SA Q4 v Q1
SB Q3 v Q2
FINAL to be arranged

Competition Secretary

Competition Treasurer

Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1961-62 Washington Grammar
1962-63 Washington Grammar
1963-64 Shield Row
1964-65 Technical, West Hartlepool
1965-66 Ryhope Grammar
1966-67 Greencroft
1967-68 South Shields GTS
1968-69 Bede Hall, Billingham
1969-70 Hebburn Clegwell
1970-71 Hebburn Clegwell
1971-72 St Thomas Acquinas RC, Sunderland
1972-73 SHARED: Hebburn Clegwell / Spennymoor
1973-74 Longfield, Darlington Easington Colliery
1974-75 St Bede's RC, Peterlee Hummersknott, Darlington
1975-76 Seaham Northlea Hebburn Clegwell
1976-77 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Hebburn
1977-78 Tanfield Lord Lawson
1978-79 SHARED: Broadway / Tanfield
1979-80 Framwellgate Moor Tanfield
1980-81 Ferryhill Sedgefield
1981-82 Hylton Red House St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields
1982-83 Hebburn St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1983-84 Easington Bede, Sunderland
1984-85 Easington Brinkburn
1985-86 Framwellgate Moor High Tunstall, Hartlepool
1986-87 Springfield Thornhill
1987-88 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool
1988-89 Monkwearmouth Hermitage, Chester-le-Street
1989-90 Southmoor Whickham
1990-91 Framwellgate Moor St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1991-92 Heworth Grange Houghton Kepier
1992-93 Southmoor St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1993-94 Boldon Hylton Red House
1994-95 Easington St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington
1995-96 St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields St Bede's RC, Peterlee
1996-97 Monkwearmouth St Bede's RC, Lanchester
1997-98 St Joseph's RC, Hebburn St Bede's RC, Peterlee
1998-99 Hebburn Harton
1999-00 Houghton Kepier Springfield
2000-01 Houghton Kepier St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
2001-02 Joseph Swan, Gateshead English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool
2002-03 St Thomas More RC, Blaydon Farringdon
2003-04 Southmoor, Sunderland Monkwearmouth
2004-05 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland High Tunstall, Hartlepool
2005-06 Thornhill, Sunderland High Tunstall, Hartlepool
2006-07 Hebburn Farringdon
2007-08 Park View, Chester-le-Street St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington
2008-09 Southmoor St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
2009-10 Lord Lawson of Beamish, Birtley St Joseph's RC, Hebburn
2010-11 English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool Ryton
2011-12 St Leonard's RC, Durham St Joseph's RC, Hebburn
2012-13 St Thomas More RC, Blaydon English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool
2013-14 St Bede's RC, Peterlee St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington
2014-15 St Wilfrid's College, South Shields Carmel College, Darlington
2015-16 Whitburn CE Academy Framwellgate
2016-17 Cardinal Hume RC, Gateshead Durham Johnston