Competition Secretary County Cup Rules Roll of Honour

The Londonderry Cup, for Under 15s, is the most prestigious and oldest of all senior schools' cups in Durham County. It was established in 1907 and all profits were in aid of the Durham Aged Mineworkers Association.

Special Rules

  1. Players shall not have completed their 15th year on or before the 1st September that season.
  2. All games shall be of two periods, each of 35 minutes duration.
  3. A size 5 ball to be used.

PLEASE NOTE - Only pupils in Year 9 and Year 10 are allowed to play in this competition

Could the winning team please inform the Competition Secretary with the result within 48 hours of the game ending. Any results not received within 48 hours will lead to the elimination of the team concerned.

1 v
2 v
3 v
4 v
5 v
6 v
7 v
8 v
9 v
10 v
11 v
A v
B v
C v
D v
E v
F v
G v
H v
Q1 v
Q2 v
Q3 v
Q4 v
SA v
SB v
FINAL to be arranged

Competition Secretary: P Kiernan


Roll of Honour

The following report of the first Londonderry Cup Final was found in the Durham County Advertiser for Friday 8 May 1908.

"The Marquis of Londonderry's Challenge Cup, presented for competition amongst County Council Elementary Schools in the rural districts of the County of Durham in aid of the Durham Aged Mineworkers Homes Association was won on Saturday at West Stanley by the Perkinsville boys who beat Springwell boys by 2 goals to 1 goal. There was a big crowd, the gate receipts amounting to about £30."

Season Winners Runners-up
1907-08 Perkinsville Springwell
1908-09 Blaydon
1909-10 Leeholme
1910-11 Perkinsville Birtley Council
1911-12 Trimdon Grange Ryhope
1912-13 Stanhope Road, South Shields Castletown
1913-14 Blaydon Marley Hill Colliery
1914-15 Murton Perkinsville
1915-16 Colliery Council, Sunderland Ford, Sunderland
1916-17 Ryhope
1917-18 Castletown
1918-19 Waterhouses
1919-20 Catchgate Easington
1920-21 Murton Castletown
1921-22 Hetton Tanfield Leazes
1922-23 Hetton CE Tanfield Leazes
1923-24 Annfield Plain Upper Standard Crook
1924-25 Annfield Plain Upper Standard Eppleton
1925-26 Eppleton Sunniside
1926-27 Chopwell Cockton Hill
1927-28 Chopwell Cockton Hill
1928-29 Chopwell Blackhall
1929-30 Chopwell
1930-31 High Spen Eppleton
1931-32 Eppleton Pelton Roseberry
1932-33 Eppleton West Pelton
1933-34 Tow Law
1934-35 Hookergate Ushaw Moor
1935-36 Chopwell
1936-37 Thornley
1937-38 Dunston
1938-39 Chester-le-Street
1939-46 No competition because of World War II
1946-47 Camden Square
1947-48 Eppleton
1948-49 Eppleton
1949-50 Usworth
1950-51 West Auckland
1951-52 Easington Colliery
1952-53 Ryhope
1953-54 Camden Square Modern Tow Law Modern
1954-55 Eppleton Modern Cassop County
1955-56 Chester-le-Street Modern Castletown Modern
1956-57 Wheatley Hill Modern School Birtley East Modern
1957-58 Eppleton Modern Murton Modern School
1958-59 Murton Modern Leeholme Modern
1959-60 Burnopfield Modern Crook Modern
1960-61 Burnhope Modern Easington Colliery Modern
1961-62 Chester-le-Street Modern Eppleton Modern
1962-63 High Spen Modern Easington Colliery Modern
1963-64 High Spen Modern Trimdon Modern
1964-65 Houghton Modern Ryhope Modern
1965-66 Seaham Modern Heworth Modern
1966-67 Boldon Modern Whickham Modern
1967-68 Brierton, Hartlepool Shield Row
1968-69 Murton
1969-70 Heworth
1970-71 Saltwell
1971-72 St Thomas Aquinas RC, Sunderland Dyke House, Hartlepool
1972-73 Clegwell, Hebburn
1973-74 Spennymoor
1974-75 St Bede's, Jarrow
1975-76 Springfield
1976-77 Pelton Roseberry
1977-78 Pennywell
1978-79 Shotton Hall, Peterlee
1979-80 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1980-81 Monkwearmouth Pelton Roseberry
1981-82 Shared: Ferryhill and Sedgefield
1982-83 Hetton Park View, Chester-le-Street
1983-84 Heathfield, Gateshead Castle View, Sunderland
1984-85 Bede, Sunderland Monkwearmouth
1985-86 Easington Seaham
1986-87 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Seaham
1987-88 High Tunstall, Hartlepool St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1988-89 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Dene House, Peterlee
1989-90 Farringdon, Sunderland
1990-91 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Southmoor, Sunderland
1991-92 Farringdon, Sunderland Monkwearmouth
1992-93 Seaham Blaydon
1993-94 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Woodham, Newton Aycliffe
1994-95 St Joseph's RC, Hebburn Hebburn
1995-96 St Bede's RC, Peterlee Southmoor, Sunderland
1996-97 St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool
1997-98 Shared: Monkwearmouth and St Bede's RC, Lanchester
1998-99 Easington St Bede's RC, Peterlee
1999-00 St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington Farringdon
2000-01 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Hylton Red House
2001-02 Joseph Swan, Gateshead St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields
2002-03 Southmoor, Sunderland Hebburn
2003-04 Joseph Swan, Gateshead St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields
2004-05 Southmoor, Sunderland Hylton Red House
2005-06 St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields Whitburn CE
2006-07 St Joseph's RC, Hebburn Southmoor, Sunderland
2007-08 St Joseph's RC, Hebburn St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields
2008-09 Manor College of Technology, Hartlepool Lord Lawson of Beamish, Birtley
2009-10 Ryton Comprehensive School St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington
2010-11 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Sedgefield
2011-12 St Joseph's RC, Hebburn Longfield Academy of Sport, Darlington
2012-13 Longfield Academy of Sport, Darlington The Academy at Shotton Hall, Peterlee
2013-14 St Joseph's Catholic Academy, Hebburn St John's RC, Bishop Auckland
2014-15 St John's RC, Bishop Auckland Oxclose Community Academy
2015-16 Cardinal Hume RC, Gateshead Dyke House Sports Academy, Hartlepool
2016-17 St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington Framwellgate School, Durham
2017-18 Dyke House Sports Academy, Hartlepool Monkwearmouth Academy
2018-19 Cardinal Hume Catholic School, Gateshead The Academy at Shotton Hall, Peterlee
2019-20 Final unable to be played due to Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic thus St Joseph's Catholic Academy, Hebburn and Cardinal Hume Catholic School, Gateshead share the trophy.
2020-21 No competition due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
2021-22 St Bede's RC, Peterlee Hebburn School

The following description of the medals, the first winners received, was reported in the Durham Chronicle of Friday 19 June 1908. "The medals are of solid gold and of handsome design, each being in a separate velvet-lined leather case, and bearing in the centre shield, the initials of the boy who won it." Above is the medal that was presented to James Lowe, a member of the winning Chopwell side, in 1936. The medal was hallmarked 9ct gold.

The following schools have won both the U15 Londonderry Cup and U15 County Cup in the same season:

The following schools have played in both the U15 Londonderry Cup and U15 County Cup Finals in the same season:

On three occasions the same teams have contested the Londonderry Cup and County Cup Finals