Print this page

Alan Grimes Memorial Trophy

First Round Semi Final Final Competition Secretary
Primary Competition Rules Roll of Honour

The Alan Grimes Memorial Trophy began in 1975-76 as an 11-a-side competition and entry was restricted to schools with under 35 boys in the top two years of the Primary school. Because of FA rule changes this became a 7-a-side competition in 1999-00.

Special Rules

  1. The Competition is played according to the FA Laws for Mini-Soccer (7v7).
  2. Entry is restricted to schools with 101 or more pupils in Key Stage 2.
  3. Only pupils in Years 5 and 6 are allowed to play.

FIRST ROUND on Wednesday 11 October 2017

Derwentside: Blackhill St Mary’s RC, Stanley St Joseph’s RC, St Patrick’s RC, Tanfield Lea, Catchgate, Shotley Bridge, Greenland, Lanchester EP

South Tyneside: West Boldon

Peterlee: Acre Rigg, Easington Colliery, Our Lady of the Rosary, Shotton

at Cotsford Junior School: Cotsford, Dene House, Seascape, Yohden

at Howletch Lane Primary School: Howletch Lane, Shotton Hall, South Hetton, Wingate

at Bernard Gilpin Primary School: Bernard Gilpin, Willowfields, St Paul’s CE, Hudson Road

at Hill View Academy: Hill View, Hylton Castle, Farringdon, Mill Hill, English Martyrs RC

at Castletown Primary School: Castletown, Diamond Hall, Broadway, Fulwell, Highfield, South Hylton

at Southwick Primary School: Southwick, St Benet’s, St Mary’s RC, Thorney Close, Grindon Hall

at Ouston Junior School: Ouston, St Margaret’s CE, Cestria, Albany, Biddick

at Lumley Junior School: Lumley, Harlow Green, John F Kennedy, Lambton,

at Rickleton Primary School: Rickleton, St Bede's RC, Usworth Colliery

at Westlea Primary School: Westlea, Ropery Walk, St Mary Magdalen's RC

at Ribbon Academy: Ribbon, St Cuthbert’s RC, Seaham Trinity, Sea View

Durham City: Shincliffe, Blue Coat CE, Bowburn, Finchale, Pittington, Framwellgate, Nevilles Cross, Sacriston

SEMI FINALS on Wednesday 24 April 2018


FINAL on Tuesday 15 May 2018


Competition Secretary

  • T Baker MBE, 4 Caragh Road, Chester-le-Street, Co Durham, DH2 3EA
  • Tel: 0191 389 0322 (home)
  • Email:

Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1975-76 Barnwell Kelloe
1976-77 Kelloe West Auckland
1977-78 Kelloe Horden & Easington RC
1979-80 Kelloe Woodlea
1980-81 St Hild's, Durham Kelloe
1981-82 St Charles' RC, Spennymoor St John Boste RC, Washington
1982-83 St John Boste RC, Washington St Leonard's RC, Sunderland
1983-84 St Bede's RC, Washington Toft Hill
1984-85 Barnwell St Cuthbert's, Gateshead
1985-86 Thorney Close, Sunderland St Mary's RC, Whickham
1987-88 Clover Hill, Blaydon Valley View, Jarrow
1988-89 St Leonard's RC, Silksworth St John Boste RC, Washington
1989-90 Bede Burn, Jarrow Red Rose, Chester-le-Street
1990-91 St Mary's RC, Jarrow Shotley Bridge
1991-92 St Benet's RC, Ouston St Mary's RC, Jarrow
1992-93 Brooms RC, Leadgate Plains Farm, Sunderland
1993-94 Red Rose, Chester-le-Street Valley View, Jarrow
1994-95 St Oswald's CE, Hebburn Red Rose, Chester-le-Street
1995-96 West Cornforth St Oswald's CE, Hebburn
1996-97 St Joseph's RC, Jarrow Lumley
1997-98 Barley Mow, Birtley Fellgate, Jarrow
1998-99 Barley Mow, Birtley Roman Road, Felling
1999-00 Coxhoe
2000-01 St Patrick's RC, Consett
2001-02 Biddick Hall, South Shields
2002-03 Hill View, Sunderland
2003-04 Howletch, Peterlee
2004-05 Hill View, Sunderland Mill Hill, Sunderland
2005-06 Easington Colliery
2006-07 Benedict Biscop, Sunderland
2007-08 Rickleton, Washington Red Rose, Chester-le-Street
2008-09 Hill View, Sunderland East Stanley
2009-10 Easington Colliery East Stanley
2010-11 Castletown Burnopfield
2011-12 St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland St Margaret's CE, Durham
2012-13 St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland St Mary's RC, Sunderland
2013-14 St Godric's RC, Durham Rickleton Primary School, Washington
2014-15 Cotsford Junior School, Horden Broadway Junior School, Sunderland
2015-16 Broadway Junior School, Sunderland Easington Colliery Primary School
2016-17 Easington Colliery Primary School Broadway Junior School, Sunderland