Print this page

Albert Knox Memorial Trophy

Competition Secretary Roll of Honour

A meeting between DCSFA and Senior Schools Representatives took place in October 1967 to discuss a new County competition to find a Senior Schools champion for entry to the ESFA over-age competition.

A trophy was presented by Durham FA in December 1967, to be known as the "Albert Knox Memorial Trophy". This was in honour of Mr Knox who, in 1948, was DFA's first appointed representative on the Council of DCSFA.

From 1996-97 Schools / Colleges were not allowed to enter both the Albert Knox Trophy and the Senior Knock-our Cup.

Season 1998-99 saw the Knox Trophy run on a league basis because of the small number of entries.

The competition was revived for Season 2009-10 with 4 entries as a knockout competition.

Special Rules

  1. Players shall be over the age of 16 years and under 19 years at midnight between the previous 31st August and 1st September, and in full time education.
  2. All games shall be of two periods, each of 45 minutes duration.
  3. A size 5 ball to be used.
  4. Schools/colleges may not enter both the Albert Knox Trophy and Senior Knock-out Cup

Could the winning team please inform the Competition Secretary, with the result of the match, as soon as possible after the completion of the game.

First Round by
a v
b v
c v
d v
Semi-finals by
SA v
SB v

Competition Secretary: R Hope


Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1967-68 Hookergate Grammar School Bishop Auckland Grammar School
1968-69 Washington Grammar School Bishop Auckland Grammar School
1969-70 Durham Johnston Hookergate Grammar School
1970-71 Bede, Sunderland Ferryhill
1971-72 Northlea, Seaham
1972-73 Bede, Sunderland Ryhope
1973-74 Northlea, Seaham Durham Johnston
1974-75 Northlea, Seaham Durham Johnston
1975-76 Carmel RC, Darlington Ferryhill
1976-77 Bede, Sunderland Howletch, Peterlee
1978-79 St Bede's RC, Lanchester Howletch, Peterlee
1979-80 Spennymoor Park View, Chester-le-Street
1980-81 Spennymoor Houghton
1981-82 Hylton Red House St Joseph's RC, Hebburn
1982-83 Ferryhill Framwellgate Moor
1983-84 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Framwellgate Moor
1984-85 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland St Joseph's RC, Hebburn
1985-86 St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington Hebburn
1986-87 Heathfield Framwellgate Moor
1988-89 Peterlee College St Robert of Newminster RC, Washngton
1989-90 Durham Gilesgate 6th Form Centre QE 6th Form College, Darlington
1990-91 QE 6th Form College, Darlington St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1991-92 Durham Gilesgate 6th Form Centre St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1992-93 QE 6th Form College, Darlington Derwentside College
1993-94 QE 6th Form College, Darlington Heathfield
1994-95 South Tyneside College Durham Gilesgate 6th Form Centre
1995-96 Derwentside College Heathfield
1996-97 QE 6th Form College, Darlington
1997-98 Gateshead College
1998-99 East Durham College
1999-00 East Durham College
2000-01 South Tyneside College
2001-02 South Tyneside College
2002-03 QE 6th Form College, Darlington
2009-10 New College, Durham QE 6th Form College, Darlington
2010-11 City of Sunderland College East Durham College
2011-12 City of Sunderland College Bishop Auckland College
2012-13 City of Sunderland College QE 6th Form College, Darlington
2013-14 Gateshead College East Durham College
2014-15 East Durham College Sunderland College
2015-16 East Durham College Darlington College
2016-17 Sunderland College Gateshead College
2017-18 QE 6th Form College, Darlington New College, Darlington
2018-19 SAFC Foundation, Shildon Darlington College