Print this page

Bert Hodgson Trophy

First Round Second Round
Quarter Final Semi Final Final
Competition Secretary County Cup Rules Roll of Honour

In June 1972 ESFA asked Counties to organise an inter-school competition for Under 16 Boys. Durham agreed in principle.

The Under 16 County Cup began in 1972-73 as a knock-out competition with 48 entries. Shortly after the season started ESFA introduced the ESFA Pepsi Trophy competition for this age group. Adjustments had to be made to the County competition and, in the end, 61 schools took part in the Durham County section.

For season 1973-74 the competition was organised in two parts, first a league section, then a knock-out section to find a County champion. 91 schools were organised into 16 groups. The winner of each group entered the knock-out section. The winning team then represented DCSFA in the National competition.

In July 1975 Council accepted an offer of a trophy in memory of Bert Hodgson, a former Chairman and Treasurer of DCSFA. It was decided to use the new trophy for this competition to replace the Pepsi Trophy, which would be presented to the runners-up.

Special Rules

  1. Boys shall have completed their 15th year but not their 16th year before the 1st September that season.
  2. All games shall be of two periods, each of 40 minutes duration.
  3. A size 5 ball to be used.

Could the winning team please inform the Competition Secretary, with the result of the match, as soon as possible after the completion of the game.

FIRST ROUND by Saturday 29 September 2018 ^TOP
1 St Joseph's Catholic Academy 2 - 0 Carmel College
2 St Wilfrid's RC College 9 - 0 St Thomas More Catholic School
3 Park View Both eliminated Biddick Academy
4 The Academy at Shotton Hall 0 - 3 North Durham Academy
5 Whitburn CE Academy 3 - 0 Thorp Academy
6 Framwellgate 6 - 5 St Robert of Newminster Catholic School
7 The English Martyrs School 0 v 3 Kepier
8 Dyke House Sports & Technology Coll 4 - 0 St Bede's RC, Peterlee
9 Hurworth 4 - 1 Hummersknott Academy
SECOND ROUND by Saturday 20 October 2018
a Cardinal Hume Catholic School 2 - 4 St Hild's CE
b Durham Johnston 3 - 1 Hurworth
c Dyke House Sports & Technology Coll 2 - 1 High Tunstall College of Science
d St John's RC 2 - 5 St Wilfrid's RC College
e Easington Academy
f Monkwearmouth Academy v St Joseph's Catholic Academy
g Framwellgate 10 - 2 Kepier
h North Durham Academy 1 - 5 Whitburn CE Academy
QUARTER FINAL by Saturday 8 December 2018
Q1 Durham Johnston (won 5-4 on pens 4-4 5-5 (aet) Whitburn CE Academy
Q2 Easington Academy v f
Q3 Dyke House Sports & Technology Coll
v St Hild's CE
Q4 Framwellgate v St Wilfrid's RC College
SEMI-FINAL by Saturday 23 February 2019
SA Q4 v Q3
SB Durham Johnston v Q2
FINAL to be arranged

Competition Secretary: L Mence


Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1972-73 St Mary's, Darlington Blaydon
1973-74 High Tunstall, Hartlepool Northlea, Seaham
1974-75 Easington Spennymoor
1975-76 Easington Heathfield
1976-77 St Bede's RC, Lanchester Boldon
1977-78 Castle View, Sunderland Seaham
1978-79 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1979-80 Shotton Hall, Peterlee Seaham
1980-81 Castle View, Sunderland
1981-82 Framwellgate Moor St Bede's RC, Peterlee
1982-83 Pelton Roseberry St Leonard's RC, Durham
1983-84 Shared: Hylton Red House / Southmoor
1984-85 Castle View, Sunderland Heathfield
1985-86 Washington St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1986-87 Farringdon Carmel RC, Darlington
1987-88 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Easington withdrawn
1988-89 St Joseph's RC, Hebburn Framwellgate Moor
1989-90 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Easington
1990-91 Heworth Grange St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1991-92 Thornhill, Sunderland Usworth
1992-93 Shared: Farringdon / St Bede's RC, Lanchester
1993-94 Houghton Kepier Oxclose, Washington
1994-95 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Longfield, Darlington
1995-96 Farringdon Hylton Red House
1996-97 Easington Thomas Hepburn, Gateshead
1997-98 St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields Monkwearmouth
1998-99 St Bede's RC, Lanchester St Edmund Campion RC, Gateshead
1999-00 Heworth Grange St John's RC, Bishop Auckland
2000-01 Farringdon Thornhill, Sunderland
2001-02 St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
2002-03 Hummersknott, Darlington Biddick, Washington
2003-04 Dene, Peterlee Hylton Red House
2004-05 Oxclose, Washington Haughton, Darlington
2005-06 Hurworth, Darlington St John's RC, Bishop Auckland
2006-07 Southmoor, Sunderland Jarrow
2007-08 Jarrow Framwellgate
2008-09 Shotton Hall, Peterlee Lord Lawson of Beamish, Birtley
2009-10 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Hebburn
2010-11 St John's RC, Bishop Auckland Manor, Hartlepool
2011-12 St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields Longfield Academy of Sport, Darlington
2012-13 Shared: St Aidan's RC, Sunderland / High Tunstall College of Science, Hartlepool
2013-14 Longfield Academy of Sport, Darlington St Joseph's Catholic Academy, Hebburn
2014-15 High Tunstall College of Science St John's RC, Bishop Auckland
2015-16 Oxclose Community Academy, Washington Whitburn CE Academy
2016-17 St Thomas More RC, Blaydon Biddick Academy, Washington
2017-18 Hurworth, Darlington Easington Academy

Previous page: Londonderry Cup
Next page: Joseph Cup