Print this page

Consett Iron Company's Schoolboys' Challenge Cup

Competition Secretary County Cup Rules Roll of Honour

About 1975 DCSFA were given the Consett Iron Company's Schoolboys Challenge Cup by Derwent Valley SFA for an U14 Inter-association competition but further discussion on the use of the cup was necessary.

It was eventually agreed that the CIC should be a County U14 competition for schools and that the winners should represent DCSFA in the final of the Northumberland and Durham Cup. This no longer happens.

Special Rules

  1. Players shall not have completed their 14th year on or before the 1st September that season.
  2. All games shall be of two periods, each of 35 minutes duration.
  3. A size 4 ball to be used.

PLEASE NOTE - Only pupils in Year 8 and Year 9 are allowed to play in this competition

Could the winning team please inform the Competition Secretary, BY EMAIL ONLY, with the result, within 48 hours of the game ending. Any results not received within 48 hours will lead to the elimination of the team concerned

1 Consett Academy 2 - 6 St Bede's RC Peterlee
2 Hummersknott Academy 3 - 0 Hebburn
3 St John's RC WO Hurworth
A Longfield Academy 5th Dec St Bede's RC Peterlee
B Dene Academy WO St Bede's Catholic School, Lanchester
C Park view WO Manor Community Academy
D St Aidan's C of E Academy, Darlington 1 - 3 Academy at Shotton Hall
E Monkwearmouth Academy 4 - 0 High Tunstall College of Science
F Grace College WO Whitburn C of E Academy
G St Aidan's Catholic Academy 3 - 2 St Robert of Newminster RC
H Mortimer Academy 1 - 2 Emmanuel College
I Dyke House Sports and Technology College 7th Dec Hummersknott Academy
J English Martyrs Catholic School 7 - 1 Carmel College
K Kepier Academy 4 - 3 Oxclose Comunity Academy
L Whickham 6 - 0 Easington Academy
M St Leonard's Catholic School 3 - 2 Hurworth
N Wellfield Community School 0 - 2 St Joseph's Catholic Academy
O North Durham Academy 2 - 1 Framwellgate
P Durham Johnston 8 - 4 Cardinal Hume Catholic School
THIRD ROUND by 18 November 2023
I A v St Bede's Catholic School, Lanchester
II Park View v Academy at Shotton Hall
III Monkwearmouth v Whitburn C of E Academy
IV St Aidan's Catholic Academy v Emmanuel College
V I v English Martyrs Catholic School
VI Kepier Academy v Whickham
VII St Leonard's Catholic School v St Joseph's Catholic Academy
VIII North Durham Academy v Durham Johnston
QUARTER FINALS by 243December 2023
Q1 I v II
Q3 V v VI
SEMI-FINALS by 17 February 2024
SA Q1 v Q2
SB Q3 v Q4
FINAL To be arranged

Competition Secretary: M Davison


Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1977-78 Spennymoor Shotton Hall, Peterlee
1979-80 Monkwearmouth Framwellgate Moor
1980-81 Sedgefield Dunston
1981-82 Sedgefield St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington
1982-83 Castle View, Sunderland Hebburn
1983-84 Dene House, Peterlee Pelton Roseberry
1984-85 Carmel RC, Darlington Farringdon
1985-86 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Ferryhill
1986-87 Thornhill, Sunderland Washington
1987-88 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Farringdon
1988-89 Monkwearmouth Easington
1989-90 Shared: St Aidan's RC, Sunderland and Whickham
1990-91 Breckenbeds, Gateshead Framwellgate Moor
1991-92 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland St Joseph's RC, Hebburn
1992-93 Framwellgate Moor St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1993-94 St Bede's RC, Lanchester Hebburn
1994-95 Thomas Hepburn, Gateshead Tanfield
1995-96 St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields Hummersknott, Darlington
1996-97 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Brierton, Hartlepool
1997-98 Hebburn Hetton
1998-99 St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington Harton
1999-00 Heworth Grange Monkwearmouth
2000-01 Farringdon Springfield, Jarrow
2001-02 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland St John's RC, Bishop Auckland
2002-03 Farringdon St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
2003-04 Houghton Kepier Southmoor, Sunderland
2004-05 St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields Monkwearmouth
2005-06 Whickham High Tunstall, Hartlepool
2006-07 St Joseph's RC, Hebburn St John's RC, Bishop Auckland
2007-08 Hebburn Spennymoor
2008-09 Heworth Grange Consett
2009-10 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Park View, Chester-le-Street
2010-11 Lord Lawson of Beamish, Birtley Park View, Chester-le-Street
2011-12 Longfield Academy of Sport, Darlington Heworth Grange
2012-13 St Leonard's RC, Durham St Joseph's RC, Hebburn
2013-14 St John's RC, Bishop Auckland Academy at Shotton Hall, Peterlee
2014-15 Cardinal Hume RC, Gateshead St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington
2015-16 Durham Johnston Easington Academy
2016-17 Monkwearmouth Academy St Joseph's Catholic Academy, Hebburn
2017-18 Cardinal Hume Catholic School, Gateshead St Leonard's RC, Durham
2018-19 St Joseph's Catholic Academy, Hebburn Longfield Academy, Darlington
2019-20 Competition not completed due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
2020-21 No competition due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
2021-22 St John's RC, Bishop Auckland St Bede's RC, Peterlee
2022-23 Cardinal Hume Catholic School Monkwearmouth Academy

Previous page: Joicey Cup
Next page: County Cup