Print this page

Girls Under 16 County Cup

This is a 9v9 competition

First Round
Quarter Final Semi Final Final
Competition Secretary County Cup Rules Roll of Honour

Special Rules

  1. The competition will be played according to the FA Laws for 9 v 9 Football.
  2. Each school will select a squad of 14 players, 9 of whom will form the team, the other 5 being substitutes.
  3. Girls shall have completed their 14th year but not their 16th year on or before the 1st September that season. (i.e. girls from Years 10 and 11).
  4. If a team fields an illegible (e.g. from Years 7, 8 or 9, or from another school) player, that team will be ejected from the competition from where they played that illegible player. If that was found to be a round further back in the competition than when the information came to light, then any previous games will need to be replayed so that a team was not beaten by a team playing an illegible player.
  5. All games shall be of two periods, each of 40 minutes duration.
  6. A size 5 ball to be used.
  7. In all games, if the scores are level at the end of normal time, extra time of 10 minutes each way must be played. If scores are still equal then the tie must be decided by penalties. There will be no replays.
  8. Rules for penalties:
    1. Each side to take 5 penalties, in the same goalmouth, by different players.
    2. Penalties to be taken alternatively.
    3. In the event of a tie --- the above to be repeated by the same players until a result is obtained.

To enter the U16 Girls County Cup a representative of the school/college/academy MUST attend the Girls' Committee AGM.

Could the winning team please inform the Competition Secretary, with the result of the match, as soon as possible after the completion of the game.

FIRST ROUND by Friday 29 September 2017 ^TOP
1 Biddick Academy 1 - 1 Belmont Community School (won 3-1 on pens)
2 Durham Johnston 2 - 0 St Joseph's Catholic Academy
3 Hetton 1 v 0 Longfield Academy of Sport
4 North Durham Academy 6 - 0 St Leonard's RC
QUARTER FINAL by Friday 20 October 2017
Q1 Belmont Community School 5 - 0 Durham Johnston
Q2 Hetton v North Durham Academy
Q3 Consett Academy 1 v 0 Hummersknott Academy
Q4 St John's RC 1 - 4 St Bede's RC, Lanchester
SEMI-FINAL by Friday 24 November 2017
SA Belmont Community School v
SB Consett Academy 6 - 2 St Bede's RC
FINAL on Wednesday 2 May at Chester-le-Street Riverside ^TOP
Belmont Community School 1 - 2 Consett Academy

Competition Secretary: J Somers


Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1996-97 English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool Durham Johnston
1997-98 Monkwearmouth English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool
1998-99 Monkwearmouth English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool
1999-00 Shared: Durham Johnston / English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool
2000-01 Durham Johnston Monkwearmouth
2001-02 Harton Biddick, Washington
2002-03 Springfield, Jarrow Durham Johnston
2003-04 Framwellgate Moor Shildon Sunnydale
2004-05 Framwellgate Moor Hebburn
2005-06 Shildon Sunnydale Kingsmeadow
2006-07 Whitburn CE Biddick School Sports College
2007-08 Biddick School Sports College, Washington St John's RC, Bishop Auckland
2008-09 Durham Johnston Comprehensive St John's RC, Bishop Auckland
2009-10 Biddick School Sports College Stanley School of Technology
2010-11 Heworth Grange Comprehensive Durham Johnston Comprehensive
2011-12 English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool Framwellgate School
2012-13 Framwellgate School Hurworth School, Darlington
2013-14 St Leonard's RC, Durham Academy at Shotton Hall, Peterlee
2014-15 Academy at Shotton Hall, Peterlee Durham Johnston Comprehensive
2015-16 St Joseph's Catholic Academy, Hebburn St Leonard's RC, Durham
2016-17 St Bede's RC, Lanchester St John's RC, Bishop Auckland
2017-18 Consett Academy Belmont Community School