Print this page

County Cup

Competition Secretary County Cup Rules Roll of Honour

The County Cup, known in its early days as The Earl of Durham Schools' Cup, was presented to the Durham County Schools FA by the Earl of Durham in 1908.

The following paragraph is taken from the Durham Chronicle (Fri 14 May 1909). "That school football is very popular was shown by the great interest taken in the final tie of the Earl of Durham Schools' Cup competition when Silksworth CE schoolboys and Leeholme schoolboys met on the Shildon Athletic ground in the presence of about 10,000 people, the gate receipts amounting to over £63."

Special Rules

  1. Players shall not have completed their 15th year on or before the 1st September that season.
  2. All games shall be of two periods, each of 40 minutes duration.
  3. A size 5 ball to be used.

PLEASE NOTE - Only pupils in Year 9 and Year 10 are allowed to play in this competition

Could the winning team please inform the Competition Secretary, BY EMAIL, with the result within 48 hours of the game ending. Any results not received within 48 hours will lead to the elimination of the team concerned.

FIRST ROUND by 238September 2024
1 v
2 v
3 v
SECOND ROUND by 219October 2024
A v
B v
C v
D v
E v
F v
G v
H v
I v
J v
K v
L v
M v
N v
O v
P v
THIRD ROUND by 23 November 2024
I v
II v
IV v
V v
VI v
QUARTER FINALS by 21 December 2024
Q1 v
Q2 v
Q3 v
Q4 v
SEMI-FINALS by 15 February 2025
SA v
SB v
FINAL - To be arranged

Results by email please

Competition Secretary: D Douglas


Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1908-09 Silksworth CE Leeholme
1909-10 Crook New Brancepeth
1910-11 Perkinsville Tow Law
1911-12 Ryhope Wheatley Hill
1912-13 Stanhope Road, South Shields Birtley
1913-14 Ryhope Perkinsville
1914-15 Murton Marley Hill Colliery
1915-16 Ryhope New Bracepeth
1916-17 New Brancepeth Colliery, Sunderland
1917-18 Washington Upper Standard Castletown
1918-19 Eppleton Washington Upper Standard
1919-20 Annfield Plain Upper Standard Castletown
1920-21 Framwellgate Moor Brandon
1921-22 Crook Council Tanfield Leazes
1922-23 Tanfield Leazes Easington
1923-24 Annfield Plain Upper Standard Shildon
1924-25 Annfield Plain Upper Standard Eppleton
1925-26 Eppleton Emmaville
1926-27 Eppleton Bearpark
1927-28 Eppleton
1928-29 Fatfield Brandon
1929-30 Chopwell Bearpark
1930-31 High Spen Auckland Park
1931-32 High Spen Eppleton
1932-33 Eppleton Tow Law
1933-34 Birtley East Tow Law
1934-35 Shared: Annfield Plain Intermediate and Wheatley Hill
1935-36 Easington Lane Chopwell
1936-37 Richard Hind, Stockton
1937-38 Oxbridge Lane, Stockton Silksworth
1938-39 High Spen
1939-46 No competition because of World War II
1946-47 Ryhope Grammar School Langley Park
1947-48 Washington St Joseph's
1948-49 Eppleton
1949-50 Richard Hind, Stockton
1950-51 West Hartlepool Technical School Washington Grammar School
1951-52 Usworth Modern School Richard Hind, Stockton
1952-53 Stanley Grammar School Alderman Wraith Grammar School
1953-54 Stanley Grammar School West Hartlepool Technical School
1954-55 Washington Grammar School Bishop Auckland Grammar School
1955-56 Annfield Plain Modern School Arthur Head Modern School
1956-57 Wheatley Hill Modern School Durham Grammar School
1957-58 Fencehouses Modern School Murton Modern School
1958-59 West Hartlepool Technical School Hookergate Grammar School
1959-60 Southmoor Technical School Durham Grammar School
1960-61 West Hartlepool Technical School Fencehouses Modern School
1961-62 Gateshead Secondary Technical School Roseworth Modern School, Stockton

Following a complaint regarding the ineligibilty of a member of the Washington Grammar School team, County Cup winners, being upheld by the Cups' Committee under Rule II of DCSFA and County Cup Rule 18 it was decided -- "That the County Cup and mementoes be withdrawn from Washington Grammar School and be held for the ensuing year, 1963-64, by the Cup Secretary".

Easington Colliery Modern School
1963-64 Washington Grammar School Eastbourne
1964-65 Peterlee Grammar School Washington Grammar School
1965-66 St Bede's, Stockton Eppleton
1966-67 Durham Johnston Grammar School St Joseph's RC, Hebburn
1967-68 Broom Cottages, Ferryhill Ryhope Grammar School
1968-69 Greencroft Ryhope Grammar School
1969-70 Clegwell, Hebburn Ryhope Grammar School
1970-71 Northlea, Seaham Saltwell
1971-72 Blaydon St Thomas Aquinas RC, Sunderland
1972-73 Clegwell, Hebburn Northlea, Seaham
1973-74 St Bede's RC, Lanchester St Thomas Aquinas RC, Sunderland
1974-75 Easington Heathfield, Gateshead
1975-76 Boldon Lord Lawson, Birtley
1976-77 Castle View, Sunderland St Bede's RC, Lanchester
1977-78 Clegwell, Hebburn St Edmund Campion
1978-79 St Thomas Aquinas RC, Sunderland
1979-80 Seaham St Thomas Aquinas RC, Sunderland
1980-81 Monkwearmouth Framwellgate Moor
1981-82 Sedgefield St Leonard's RC, Durham
1982-83 St Bede's RC, Peterlee Sedgefield
1983-84 Heathfield, Gateshead St Joseph's RC, Hebburn
1984-85 Heathfield, Gateshead Monkwearmouth
1985-86 Framwellgate Moor Brinkburn, South Shields
1986-87 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Hummersknott, Darlington
1987-88 Dene House, Peterlee Springfield, South Tyneside
1988-89 English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1989-90 Brierton, Hartlepool Easington
1990-91 Thornhill, Sunderland St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1991-92 Farringdon Framwellgate Moor
1992-93 St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington St Bede's RC, Lanchester
1993-94 Hetton Monkwearmouth
1994-95 Boldon Hylton Red House
1995-96 Easington Tanfield
1996-97 Easington High Tunstall, Hartlepool
1997-98 Heworth Grange Easington
1998-99 Heworth Grange St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1999-00 Harton Houghton Kepier
2000-01 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Lord Lawson, Birtley
2001-02 Biddick, Washington St Hild's CE, Hartlepool
2002-03 Biddick, Washington Easington
2003-04 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Joseph Swan, Gateshead
2004-05 Southmoor, Sunderland Framwellgate, Durham
2005-06 St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields Whitburn CE
2006-07 Jarrow Durham Johnston
2007-08 Farringdon St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
2008-09 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Biddick School Sports College
2009-10 Manor College of Technology, Hartlepool Easington Community Science College
2010-11 St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington Heworth Grange School
2011-12 St Joseph's RC, Hebburn Venerable Bede CE, Ryhope
2012-13 Longfield Academy of Sport, Darlington Joseph Swan Academy, Gateshead
2013-14 St Joseph's Catholic Academy, Hebburn St Leonard's RC, Durham
2014-15 St John's RC, Bishop Auckland Biddick Academy, Washington
2015-16 Cardinal Hume RC, Gateshead St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington
2016-17 St Wilfrid's RC College, South Shields Hurworth School, Darlington
2017-18 St Wilfrid's RC College, South Shields Framwellgate School, Durham
2018-19 Red House Academy, Sunderland Cardinal Hume Catholic School, Gateshead
2019-20 Final unable to be played due to Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic thus St John's RC, Bishop Auckland and Cardinal Hume Catholic School, Gateshead share the trophy.
2020-21 No competition due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
2021-22 Hebburn School St Bede's RC, Peterlee
2022-23 St Wilfrid's RC College The English Martyrs Catholic School
2023-24 The English Martyrs Catholic School Kepier Academy