Print this page

Joicey Cup

Competition Secretary County Cup Rules Roll of Honour

The Joicey Cup (or "Lord Joicey Challenge Cup" to give it its full title), dates back to the season 1920-21, when it was originally an Under 15s League Cup in the old Lambton and Hetton Schools Football Association.

From the 1961-62 season it became a County Cup at Under 14 Level (Year 9), before changing to a Year 8 County Cup competition from season 1999-2000. As a charity cup competition it has always made an annual donation to the "Save the Children Fund".

Special Rules

  1. Players shall not have completed their 13th year on or before the 1st September that season.
  2. All games shall be of two periods, each of 30 minutes duration.
  3. A size 4 ball to be used.
  4. In all rounds, if the scores are equal, extra time of 7 minutes each way must be played. If scores are still equal, then the tie must be decided by penalties.
  5. Rules for penalties:
    1. Each side to take 5 penalties, in the same goalmouth, by different players.
    2. Penalties to be taken alternately.
    3. In the event of a tie --- the above to be repeated by the same players until a result is obtained.

PLEASE NOTE - Only pupils in Year 7 and Year 8 are allowed to play in this competition

Could the winning team please inform the Competition Secretary with the result within 48 hours of the game ending. Any results not received within 48 hours will lead to the elimination of the team concerned.

FIRST ROUND by  October 2024
1 v
2 v
4 v
5 v
6 v
7 v
8 v
9 v
10 v
11 v
12 v
13 v
14 v
15 v
16 v
SECOND ROUND by December 2024
A v
B v
C v
D v
E v
F v
G v
H v
QUARTER FINALS by  February 2025
Q1 v
Q2 v
Q3 v
Q4 v
SEMI-FINALS by March 2025
SA v
SB v
FINAL - To be arranged

Competition Secretary: WD Carr


Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1961-62 Washington Grammar West Hartlepool Technical Day School
1962-63 Washington Grammar
1963-64 Shield Row
1964-65 Technical, West Hartlepool
1965-66 Ryhope Grammar
1966-67 Greencroft
1967-68 South Shields GTS
1968-69 Bede Hall, Billingham
1969-70 Hebburn Clegwell
1970-71 Hebburn Clegwell
1971-72 St Thomas Acquinas RC, Sunderland
1972-73 Shared: Hebburn Clegwell and Spennymoor
1973-74 Longfield, Darlington Easington Colliery
1974-75 St Bede's RC, Peterlee Hummersknott, Darlington
1975-76 Seaham Northlea Hebburn Clegwell
1976-77 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland Hebburn
1977-78 Tanfield Lord Lawson
1978-79 Shared: Broadway and Tanfield
1979-80 Framwellgate Moor Tanfield
1980-81 Ferryhill Sedgefield
1981-82 Hylton Red House St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields
1982-83 Hebburn St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1983-84 Easington Bede, Sunderland
1984-85 Easington Brinkburn
1985-86 Framwellgate Moor High Tunstall, Hartlepool
1986-87 Springfield Thornhill
1987-88 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool
1988-89 Monkwearmouth Hermitage, Chester-le-Street
1989-90 Southmoor Whickham
1990-91 Framwellgate Moor St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1991-92 Heworth Grange Houghton Kepier
1992-93 Southmoor St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
1993-94 Boldon Hylton Red House
1994-95 Easington St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington
1995-96 St Wilfrid's RC, South Shields St Bede's RC, Peterlee
1996-97 Monkwearmouth St Bede's RC, Lanchester
1997-98 St Joseph's RC, Hebburn St Bede's RC, Peterlee
1998-99 Hebburn Harton
1999-00 Houghton Kepier Springfield
2000-01 Houghton Kepier St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
2001-02 Joseph Swan, Gateshead English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool
2002-03 St Thomas More RC, Blaydon Farringdon
2003-04 Southmoor, Sunderland Monkwearmouth
2004-05 St Aidan's RC, Sunderland High Tunstall, Hartlepool
2005-06 Thornhill, Sunderland High Tunstall, Hartlepool
2006-07 Hebburn Farringdon
2007-08 Park View, Chester-le-Street St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington
2008-09 Southmoor St Aidan's RC, Sunderland
2009-10 Lord Lawson of Beamish, Birtley St Joseph's RC, Hebburn
2010-11 English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool Ryton
2011-12 St Leonard's RC, Durham St Joseph's RC, Hebburn
2012-13 St Thomas More RC, Blaydon English Martyrs RC, Hartlepool
2013-14 St Bede's RC, Peterlee St Robert of Newminster RC, Washington
2014-15 St Wilfrid's College, South Shields Carmel College, Darlington
2015-16 Whitburn CE Academy Framwellgate
2016-17 Cardinal Hume RC, Gateshead Durham Johnston
2017-18 Cardinal Hume RC, Gateshead High Tunstall College of Science
2018-19 Castle View Enterprise Academy, Sunderland St John's RC, Bishop Auckland
2019-20 Final unable to be played due to Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic thus Mortimer Community College, South Shields and Hebburn share the trophy.
2020-21 No competition due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
2021-22 St Bede's RC, Peterlee Carmel College, Darlington
2022-23 St Joseph's Catholic Academy, Hebburn Park View, Chester-le-Street
2023-24 St Joseph's Catholic Academy, Hebburn Park View, Chester-le-Street