Print this page

County Teams

Under 14 Girls Under 16 Girls
Under 16 Boys Under 18 Boys

Season 2009-10 saw a new development in county football with an ESFA national competition with an open draw being run from the start of the season as opposed to the old system where the two finalists from the Northern Counties competition went forward to national quarter finals.

The County representative sides, Under 16 Boys, Under 16 Girls and Under 18 Boys, all took part in this ESFA national competition as well as the annual Northern Counties Championships. This latter competition takes the form of a league competition, to be completed before Easter each year with a west and east section.

The east section comprises Durham, Northumberland, Cleveland, North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire and Cumbria. In the west the competing sides are Cheshire, Merseyside, Greater Manchester, Lancashire and West Yorkshire. Not all counties have an under 16 girls team although there is still an east west divide in the qualifying stages

Once the league sections are completed the winners of each section have a home tie against the runners up from the opposite section in the Northern Counties semi final.

In 2014 Durham established an U14 Girls team to participate in the newly formed Northern Counties competition. It was decided to enter a team into the National competition.

See the relevant pages for more information about each of the teams.

Previous page: DCSFA Rule 16
Next page: Under 14 Girls