Print this page

Leadgate Eden Colliery Cup

Primary Competition Rules Roll of Honour

The Leadgate Eden Colliery Cup began as an 11-a-side competition in 1977-78 when entry was restricted to schools with under 70 boys in the 7-11 age group. Since 1999-00 the format has been 7-a-side.

Today the winners of the Leadgate Eden Colliery Cup represent DCSFA in the North Region Final of the ESFA Under 11 Small Schools' Soccer Sevens.

Special Rules

  1. The Competition is played according to the FA Laws for Mini-Soccer (7v7)
  2. To be eligible to enter the Leadgate Eden Colliery Cup, the affiliated school must have fewer than 65 or fewer pupils in total in Years 5 or 6 according to the numbers on roll as confirmed by the preceding year's summer census.
  3. Only pupils in Years 5 and 6 are allowed to play.


Competition Secretary: T Baker MBE



Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1979-80 Castleside All Saints RC, Lanchester
1980-81 Castleside St Benet's RC, Ouston
1981-82 St Mary's RC, Newton Aycliffe St Mary's RC, Stanley
1982-83 Castleside Burnhope
1983-84 St Joseph's RC, Birtley St Patrick's RC, Ryhope
1984-85 St Joseph's RC, Birtley Bournmoor
1985-86 St Joseph's RC, Birtley Toft Hill
1987-88 St John Bosco RC, Sunderland St Cuthbert's RC, Seaham
1988-89 Bournmoor Sedgefield Harwick
1989-90 St Joseph's RC, Birtley St Mary Magdalen RC, Seaham
1990-91 Bloemfontein, Stanley Toft Hill
1991-92 St Patrick's RC, Ryhope St Peter's CE, Hebburn
1992-93 St Patrick's RC, Ryhope St Mary Magdalen RC, Seaham
1993-94 St Patrick's RC, Ryhope St James' RC, Jarrow
1994-95 All Saints RC, Lanchester Bournmoor
1995-96 St James' RC, Jarrow Bournmoor
1996-97 Bournmoor Springwell Village
1997-98 Springwell Village West Pelton
1998-99 Shared: Springwell Village and St Patrick's RC, Ryhope
1999-00 South Hetton
2000-01 Usworth Grange, Washington
2001-02 St Joseph's RC, Stanley
2002-03 Springwell Village
2003-04 Springwell Village
2004-05 All Saints RC, Lanchester
2005-06 Easington CE
2006-07 St Joseph's RC, Birtley
2007-08 Barley Mow, Birtley South Hetton
2008-09 Easington CE Barley Mow, Birtley
2009-10 St Patrick's RC, Langley Moor Temple Park, South Shields
2010-11 Sunderland High School Easington CE
2012-13 Esh CE All Saints RC, Lanchester
2013-14 Finchale Barley Mow, Birtley
2014-15 St Joseph's RC, Murton Silver Tree Primary School, Ushaw Moor
2015-16 St Joseph's RC, Murton Burnhope Primary School
2016-17 St Bede's RC, Sacriston Easington CE Primary School
2017-18 All Saints' Catholic Primary School, Lanchester Browney Primary Academy
2018-19 Browney Primary Academy Easington CE Primary School
2019-20 St John Bosco RC, Sunderland St Patrick's RC, Langley Moor
2020-21 No competition due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
2021-22 St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland Dame Dorothy Primary School, Sunderland
2022-23 Seaburn Dene Primary School Shotton Primary School
2023-24 Edmondsley Primary School Cassop Primary School