Print this page

John Robson Trophy

This cup has been played for using different formats.

When it began the competition was open to the 8 smallest associations in the County invited by the Primary Cups' Committee, and be a knock-out competition. In 1998-99 it was open to Durham association teams not involved in the Tyne and Wear or Cleveland competitions. From 2002-03 it was competed for by teams not qualifying for the later stages of the Harrison Cup. At the 2010 Primary AGM it was decided that the competition would not be contested in 2010-11.

From 2011-12 it was decided to play a 'round robin' 11-a-side competition. In 2013-14 it became 9-a-side.

Season 2023-24 Competition

The competition will take place on Saturday 23rd September 2024 at Education Village, Darlington.

Association teams participating:

  • Chester-le-Street
  • Darlington
  • Stockton
  • Sunderland

Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1987-88 Bishop Auckland PSFA Seaham PSFA
1988-89 Consett PSFA Peterlee PSFA
1989-90 Peterlee PSFA Consett PSFA
1990-91 Consett PSFA Peterlee PSFA
1991-92 Peterlee PSFA Jarrow & Hebburn PSFA
1992-93 Stanley PSFA Kelloe PSFA
1993-94 Shared: Peterlee PSFA / Jarrow & Hebburn PSFA
1994-95 Jarrow & Hebburn PSFA Stanley PSFA
1995-96 Bishop Auckland PSFA Consett PSFA
1996-97 Jarrow & Hebburn PSFA Bishop Auckland PSFA
1997-98 Jarrow & Hebburn PSFA Peterlee PSFA
1998-99 Peterlee PSFA Bishop Auckland PSFA
1999-00 Peterlee PSFA
2000-01 Derwentside PSFA
2001-02 Darlington PSFA
2002-03 Felling PSFA
2003-04 No competition
2004-05 Stockton PSFA
2005-06 Shared: Chester-le-Street PSFA / Peterlee PSFA
2006-07 Shared: Stockton PSFA / Bishop Auckland PSFA
2007-08 Bishop Auckland PSFA
2008-09 No competition
2009-10 Sunderland PSFA South Tyneside PSFA
2010-11 No competition
2011-12 Chester-le-Street PSFA Darlington PSFA
2012-13 Darlington PSFA Redcar & Cleveland PSFA
2013-14 Sunderland PSFA Darlington PSFA
2014-15 Sunderland PSFA
2015-16 Sunderland PSFA
2016-17 Chester-le-Street PSFA
2017-18 Sunderland PSFA Chester-le-Street PSFA
2018-19 Chester-le-Street PSFA Sunderland PSFA
2019-20 Washington PSFA Chester-le-Street PSFA
2020-21 Stockton PSFA Chester-le-Street PSFA
2021-22 Sunderland PSFA Chester-le-Street PSFA
2023-24 Sunderland PSFA