Print this page

TY McGurk 5-a-side Trophy

Competition Secretary Roll of Honour

Each primary association holds a 5-a-side competition to find a winner to represent the association in a County competition.

Competition Rules

  1. The competition shall be open to one school team representing each association.
  2. It will be an indoor competition.
  3. The County Final will be held on the penultimate Wednesday of the Spring Term.
  4. The regional and final rounds will take the form of a league competition. 3 points will be awarded for a win and 1 point for a draw. Should teams have the same number of points the highest placed team shall be decided as follows:
    1. Goal difference
    2. Most goals scored
    3. Won most matches
    4. Result(s) of matches between the teams concerned.
    5. Should teams share a qualifying position in the group and the playing records are identical, then a play off match may be arranged if time permits. If this is impossible, the position will be decided by penalty kicks.
  5. The entry fee shall be £3 per association. Entries shall be made through Association Secretaries.
  6. Squads will consist of 7 players, 5 of whom will form the team. DCSFA will provide 7 mementoes to each team in the final.
  7. A size 4 indoor ball to be used.
  8. Duration of play to be 5 minutes each way.

Competition Secretary: T Baker MBE


Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1979-80 St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland Heathfield
1980-81 Barnes, Sunderland
1981-82 Birtley East Harton
1982-83 St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland
1983-84 Cheveley Park
1984-85 St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland
1985-86 Barnes, Sunderland
1986-87 Howletch Lane, Peterlee
1987-88 St John Bosco RC, Sunderland
1988-89 St Aloysius RC, Hebburn Kelvin Grove, Gateshead
1989-90 Shotton Hall, Peterlee
1990-91 Whickham Fellside Hylton Red House
1991-92 Pelton Roseberry
1992-93 East Boldon Blackhall Colliery
1993-94 Brooms RC, Leadgate Wingate
1994-95 Easington Colliery
1995-96 Grangetown, Sunderland
1996-97 Sacriston
1997-98 Shotton Hall, Peterlee
1998-99 Bullion Lane, Chester-le-Street
1999-00 Finchale, Durham
2000-01 St Patrick's RC, Consett
2001-02 Cestria, Chester-le-Street
2002-03 Dunston Hill, Gateshead
2003-04 Acre Rigg, Peterlee
2004-05 Lumley
2005-06 Annfield Plain
2006-07 Rickleton Primary School, Washington
2007-08 Easington Colliery Primary School Rickleton Primary School, Washington
2008-09 Whickham Front Street Primary School Shotton Hall Primary School, Peterlee
2009-10 East Stanley Primary School Hetton Lyons Primary School
2010-11 Castletown Primary School, Sunderland Howletch Lane Primary School, Peterlee
2011-12 St Margaret's CE Primary School, Durham St Godric's RC Primary School, Durham
2012-13 Murton Community Primary School Mill Hill Primary School, Sunderland
2013-14 Rickleton Primary School, Washington Federation of Abbey Schools, Darlington
2014-15 Cotsford Junior School, Horden Castletown Primary School, Sunderland
2015-16 Mowden Junior School, Darlington Winlaton West Lane Community Primary School
2016-17 St George's CE Academy, Darlington Tanfield Lea Primary School
2017-18 Red Rose Primary School, Chester-le-Street Clover Hill Community Primary Sch, Whickham
2018-19 St Margaret's CE Primary School, Durham Redby Primary School, Sunderland
2019-20 Competition not completed due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
2020-21 No competition due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
2021-22 St Cuthbert's RC Primary School, Sunderland St George's CE Academy, Darlington
2022-23 Broadway Primary School, Sunderland Cestria Primary School, Chester-le-Street
2023-24 Easington Colliery Primary School Lambton Primary School, Washington

Previous page: ESFA Schools' Cup for Girls
Next page: Harrison Cup