Print this page

Primary Cup

The AGM of 1950 voted against establishing a County Cup for Junior teams -- boys under the age of 11.

At a meeting in June 1964 the Primary subcommittee reported the successful playing of the Harrison Cup. It was then decided to introduce an Inter-school County competition.

The FA introduced small sided football for children Under 11 but allowed Year 6 pupils to play 11-a-side football. The Primary Committee tried to keep the competition going but fewer schools were playing the 11-a-side game. The Primary Cup competition ceased at the end of season 2001-02.

Roll of Honour

Season Winners Runners-up
1964-65 Usworth Colliery Dawdon
1965-66 Finalists were English Martyrs, Sunderland and Holy Rosary
1966-67 Consett RC English Martyrs
1967-68 Eppleton Billingham
1968-69 Houghton Dean Bank, Ferryhill
1969-70 Gilesgate, Durham St Theresa's, Hartlepool
1970-71 Broadway, Sunderland Dawdon
1971-72 Emmaville Dunston Hill
1972-73 Hill View, Sunderland Springwell, Sunderland
1973-74 Vane Road, Newton Aycliffe Lanchester
1974-75 Hill View, Sunderland Hylton Red House
1975-76 St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland Quarry View, Sunderland
1976-77 Cheviot, South Shields Horden & Easington RC
1977-78 Blackfell, Washington Burnopfield
1979-80 Kelloe Whickham Front Street
1980-81 St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland Barnes, Sunderland
1981-82 Eppleton Barley Mow, Birtley
1982-83 St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland Finchale, Durham
1983-84 St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland Quarry View, Sunderland
1984-85 St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland Grangetown, Sunderland
1985-86 Thorney Close, Sunderland Grangetown, Sunderland
1987-88 Temple Park, South Shields Whickham Fellside
1988-89 Whickham Fellside St Cuthbert's RC, Sunderland
1989-90 Finchale, Durham Blaydon West
1990-91 Hylton Red House Glebe, Washington
1991-92 Mill Hill, Sunderland St Joseph's RC, Blaydon
1992-93 Mill Hill, Sunderland St Bede's RC, Washington
1993-94 Shared: Fulwell / New Silksworth
1994-95 Hasting Hill, Sunderland Ouston
1995-96 Cheviot, South Shields Hylton Castle
1996-97 Fulwell Usworth Grange, Washington
1997-98 Mowbray Park, South Shields Toner Avenue, Jarrow
1998-99 Shared: Bullion Lane / Pelton County
1999-00 West Boldon Mowbray, South Shields
2000-01 Yohden, Peterlee St Mary's RC, Sunderland
2001-02 Grangetown, Sunderland St Joseph's RC, Washington